Advisory Planning Commission

The Kitimat Advisory Planning Commission (APC) is a volunteer panel that advises Council on development applications, Official Community Plan amendments, other planning issues, and land use matters.

The APC has nine members: seven residents of the municipality plus the Mayor (or an appointed member of Council) and a School Trustee. The Council and School Board representatives are not voting members of the Commission.

Members serve at the pleasure of Kitimat Council.  A term is normally two years, starting in April.  A Member may serve up to two consecutive two-year terms, and is eligible for reappointment after an absence of twelve months.

APC meetings are held the third or fourth Tuesday of the month, or as required. Schedule is determined by the frequency or urgency of Council referrals. Quorum necessary for the transaction of meeting business is four voting members.

Current APC Members

  • Grant Foraunet, Chair
  • Daniel Chimko, Vice-Chair
  • Gillian Mullins, Member
  • JF Richer, Member
  • Kristin Guité, Member 
  • Gareen Ball, Member
  • Katherine Gauer, Member
  • Claire Rattée, Kitimat Council (Alternate - Mary Murphy ) 
  • Raymond Raj, School Trustee

New Members

Are you interested in serving on the Kitimat APC?  Kitimat Council will advertise opportunities each spring.  Please contact the Chair or Community Planning and Development at 250-632-8900 to inquire further.