Photo Gallery: Kitimaat Open Basketball 2024 will appear here on the public site.

It was another successful year as the Kitamaat Open basketball tournament enjoyed its 16th run over the April 26 to 28 weekend.

This event runs annually, and is co-hosted by Haisla Nation and the District of Kitimat.

In the Women’s Division, it was Shae’s Team versus Haisla in the finals, with Shae’s Team clinching the win. In third was the team Nations.

The Men’s Division saw Chiefs Red vs. Chiefs Black with Black taking the win. Third place was The Bay.

The Joe Iannarelli Cultural Spirit Award was presented to James Harry Jr.

Women’s Awards:

Taylor Wale
Shayla Schooner
Sydney Siemens
Faith Nisyok
Olivia Morgan
Best Defensive: Kashlynn Mack
Ms. Hustle: Amber Wells
Most Inspirational: Hailey Johnston
MVP: Shenise Sigsworth

Men’s Awards:

Russell Reece
Michael Marven
Kole Jones
Rob #7 Chiefs Black
Sonny Sylvester
Best Defensive: Kyle Cline
Mr. Hustle: Tyler Jones
Most Inspirational: Terence Ross
MVP: Ronnie Battle



First held in 2005, the Kitamaat Open annual basketball tournament came at a time when both the Haisla and District of Kitimat recognized that the relationship between the communities was struggling.

Ellis Ross, Keith Nyce, and Joe Iannarelli among others came together and brought a team of organizers - including the public, District of Kitimat, and RCMP representatives - to the table to realize this vision of a shared event.

It was a snowy January when the inaugural event was held, to modest success. From those humble beginnings it has grown in stature and is now a staple competition for many teams. The success of the partnership and tournament comes from the philosophy of ‘cultural spirit’ through sport.

The Kitamaat Open Basketball tournament is the longest-running joint initiative between the communities.

The games are hosted both in the gymnasiums at Mount Elizabeth Middle Secondary School and at the Haisla Recreation Centre in Kitamaat Village.

The tournament has run consistently, except for a three-year gap, from 2020 to 2022, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Contact Us